Mark Twain Fellowship

Founded in 2014, the Mark Twain Fellowship provides a one-year, $50,000 scholarship to an MU senior or recent alumnus pursuing graduate study outside of North America. To be eligible, the student must have applied to — but not been selected for — a national or global fellowship that involves a campus nomination coordinated by the Fellowships Office, such as the the Rhodes Scholarship, Marshall Scholarship or Fulbright U.S. Student Program.

In this way, the Mark Twain Fellowship supports and encourages MU students in applying for prestigious awards and developing their international interests and aspirations.

Mark Twain recipients are chosen for their academic achievement, character, leadership and service within and beyond Mizzou, and the quality of their study proposal.

The Mark Twain Fellowship has provided transformational opportunities to its recipients, who have gone on to further graduate study at elite institutions (Oxford, Columbia, Stanford) and careers in higher education, law, the environment and international organizations.

Read more about past recipients:

2014: Zach Parolin

2015: Jessica Anania

2016: Helen Bass

2017: Brendan Marsh

2018: Rachel “Raini” Patteson

2019: Rebecca Craig

2020: Faramola Shonekan

2021: Elizabeth “Liz” Kujath

2022: Claire Shipp

2023: Paul Odu

2024: Jenny Park