Ann K. Covington Award

Ann K. Covington is a retired Missouri Supreme Court judge (the first woman to serve on that panel), a retired member of the University of Missouri (MU) Board of Curators, and a graduate of the MU School of Law. She has also served on MU’s Truman Scholarship campus nomination committee for many years, offering sound guidance and counsel to many student applicants.

This prestigious award honors faculty and staff who continue her legacy of student mentorship. Those contributions may have come in the form of:

  • Mentorship with scholarly research or creative endeavors,
  • Counsel toward professional aspirations,
  • Guidance in developing a fellowship application, and/or
  • Other activities that supported an undergraduate in seeking one or more nationally competitive fellowships.

Any undergraduate student who has submitted an application for a globally or nationally competitive fellowship, grant, or scholarship in collaboration with the Fellowships Office may nominate a mentor for the Covington Award. Each Spring, the Fellowships Office sends an invitation to eligible individuals to nominate a mentor(s).

Previous recipients of the Covington Award are as follows:

  • 2022
    • Nicole Campione-Barr (College of Arts & Science), nominated by Kismet Okyere
    • Yicheng Guo (College of Arts & Science), nominated by Lauryn Williams
  • 2021
    • Mirna Becevic (School of Medicine), nominated by Rebecca Shyu
    • Yong Volz (Missouri School of Journalism), nominated by Alice Yu
  • 2020
    • Michael Marlo (College of Arts & Science), nominated by Sarah Pribe
    • Iris Zachary (School of Medicine), nominated by Rebecca Shyu
  • 2019
    • Ashley Groh (College of Arts & Science), nominated by Paul Caldo
    • David Schulz (College of Arts & Science), nominated by Abigail Beckerdite
  • 2018
    • Antje Heese (College of Agriculture, Food & Natural Resources)
    • Kristin Kopp (College of Arts & Science)
  • 2017
    • J.D. Bowers (College of Arts & Science), nominated by Kate Hargis
    • Kevin Middleton (School of Medicine), nominated by Nick Bira
  • 2016
    • Chris Pires, nominated by Kevin Bird
    • Nancy West (College of Arts & Science), nominated by Kelsey Hurwitz
  • 2015
    • Gavin King (College of Agriculture, Food & Natural Resources), nominated by Brendan Marsh
    • Marvin Overby, nominated by Fares Akremi
  • 2014
    • Sheila Grant (College of Engineering), nominated by Claire Spradling
    • Nicole Monnier (College of Arts & Science), nominated by Sasha Gubina